Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
No, a court appearance is not required if the citation is paid prior to the court date . By paying the citation either by phone or on-line the citation is submitted as a guilty to the State of Tennessee and any option to attend a traffic school is no longer available. Once paid this cannot be retracted.
Show All Answers
Your court date is at the bottom of your ticket. Goodlettsville traffic court is always on the 2nd and 3rd Tuesdays of each month.
Call the Court Clerk's Office at (615) 851-2214 as soon as you know of your scheduling problem. Explain your scheduling problem and the Clerk will review your situation and attempt to resolve any issues. If your court date is changed it will only be changed one time, so do not forget your new date.
First, call the Court Clerk's office at (615) 851-2214 and you will be advised as to what options are still available for the resolution of your ticket, depending on how many days it is past due. Tickets over 10 days past due will be sent to the Tennessee Department of Safety and your driver's license will be suspended. Once this occurs, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee, plus the original ticket fine, plus a default fee of $50 for each offense on the ticket.
The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security provide a variety of ways to reinstate your driving privileges their website is here https://www.tn.gov/safety/
You can receive information about your driver's license status/reinstatement process in one of the following ways
In person at one of the specified drivers license reinstate center - https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/locations/dllocationcnty.html Prior to going to one of these stations you may want to contact the reinstatement call center or go online to determine what is required to reinstate your license
By Phone - 1-866-903-7357 You can speak with a customer service representative Monday Through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Central Standard Time.
If you are attempting to pay your citation on-line and you receive a message that your violation cannot be paid on-line it means that you have passed the deadline to submit payment on-line and your driver's license information has been forwarded to the State of Tennessee for proposed suspension of your driver's license for non-compliance. These citations must be paid in person in order for us to give a release to present to the State of Tennessee showing that you complied. Our address is 105 S Main Street Goodlettsville TN 37072
Points and duration of time that they remain on your driver's license are not decided upon by the City of Goodlettsville. The State of Tennessee is the issuing agency for your driver's license and they determine that information. You can retrieve that information here https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/reinstatements/values.html
No . We do not accept any proof by email or fax it must be made in person at 105 S Main Street Goodlettsville TN 37072
If you had insurance when the citation was issued, the violation will be "dismissed at no cost" . The insurance must show that it was in effect on the date the ticket was issued. If you did not have insurance at the time you were stopped, you must pay the citation
No, we do not split the violations on a citation . If you have a violation that is dismissible but you want to appear in court in hopes of receiving traffic school bring the proof of compliance on your assigned court date and everything will be heard at the same time or
If you want to have 1 violation dismissed and pay the other in lieu of court this can be done in person at 105 S Main St Goodlettsville TN
No, the judge is the only one that assigns traffic school and this is done on your assigned court date on a case by case basis.
No. We do not accept personal checks. They can be paid by money order or cashier's check made payable to "City of Goodlettsville"
Yes, you must first appear before the court on the initial assigned court date or notify the court 7 days in advance of the court date of your desire to plead "not guilty" and the court will set a trial date for your case.
Yes, an appeal must be filed within 10 days of the conviction date. A 250.00 bond is required in order the appeal to be filed along with the appeal paperwork.
No, Traffic School cannot be used to mask a driving offense per TCA 55-10-301 http://codes.findlaw.com/tn/title-55-motor-and-other-vehicles/tn-code-sect-55-10-301.html ; Code of Federal Regulations https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/49/384.226#. This means that State and Federal law mandate that, all traffic violations received by holders of a Commercial Drivers License, with the exception of a parking ticket, must be reported to the State of Tennessee Department of Safety, without exception.